National Library of the Philippines graces IMPDC Webinar on ISBN, ISSN and ISMN Acquisition

CPSU - Instructional Media Production and Development Center (IMPDC) conducted a virtual University-wide webinar on ISBN, ISMN and ISSN acquisition last June 28, 2022.

Invited resource speaker who shed light on the process of ISBN, ISSN, and ISMN Acquisition was Ms. Marie Joy H. Bestoir, the Librarian III and Head of the Technical Special Services Section of the National Library of the Philippines. The second part of the lecture was on the institutional policy in the evaluation process of ILMs for ISBN Application which was discussed by Dr. Josephine Asuncion R. Emoy, the IMPDC director.

The IMPDC office annually conducts instruction-based webinars and trainings to capacitate faculty members in the preparation of their instructional learning materials (ILMs). For this year, with their ILMs, such as modules, manuals, etc. for the conduct of modular classes in the blended learning set-up already in place, the aim was to assist them further for their acquisition of ISBN at the National Library of the Philippines.

Welcoming the attendees was Dr. Mae Flor Posadas, VP for Research and Extension, who stated that the goal of the training was to provide an avenue for instructors to have their modules coded with ISBN or International Standard Book Number at the National Library of the Philippines, including ISSN for serials and ISMN for musical compositions.

“This webinar is very timely and essential to our institution as part of our process when designing ILMs. With this, everyone will gain actual and accurate guide and instruction on the logistics in processing the ISBN for their modules,” she stated.

Participants in the said activity were the faculty members of the University accross its ten (10) campuses and two (2) extension classes. 

Also present in the host venue were Dr. Riza Stephanie Alfaras, Dean of the Graduate School, Dr. Eleanor Castro, Director for Curriculum Planning and Development, Dr. Marjon Malacapay, Director for Licensure and Review, Dr. Denis Bilocura, Director for International Affairs, and Dr. Aubrey Ginelle Rallos, as the moderator.


By: J.A. Emoy

Photo Credits: A.G. Rallos & L. Capero